Happy This Week #2

happyweekI’m linking up with Tiffany again this week. I think this is my favorite post of the week. You should definitely follow the link above, and read Tiffany’s Happy This Week post. Hers are ALWAYS great!

I’m excited about a project my Mother-In-Law is doing for us. Last Friday my friend, Miss Daphene, gave us a paper doll book from 1979! She got it from a yard sale, and it has never been cut into! Chris came up with the idea to paste the dolls onto wood cut outs, so they will last longer. His mom came up with the idea of pasting the clothes onto floppy magnets, and sinking metal into the wood so the two can easily attach. The dolls and costumes are beautiful, and I can’t wait to play with these toys with Lizzy-Jane and Claire! I’m so thankful my Mother-In-Law is good with a scroll saw, and willing to do this intricate project for us!!

I got new clothes!! I got new clothes!!! I found a new store in a nearby town called My Big Sister’s Closet. It is a consignment store, so it has good prices, but the best part is it is size 14 and up. I’ve never seen so many nice clothes, in my size, that I can afford, in one place. It is a thrill!! PLUS, I get to trade in some of my clothes I don’t wear anymore, and as I lose weight, I can continue to trade in clothes. This is a big confidence booster!

I’m writing again. It feels so good to sit and write several times a week. I need the creative outlet. It helps keep the voices out of my head. Plus, it’s just plain fun and rewarding. I love all of my blog readers, and being able to publish my words with the push of a button. What did we do before the internet? I do remember starting to write in the 6th grade. I always wanted to read my stories out loud in class, because I loved it so much. That year I said I wanted to be a writer when I grew up. But, the next year I started acting, and that took over my life for the next 26 years. I still wrote some during that time, but acting was my primary creative outlet. But, now it is writing again. I’m so thankful to have this outlet. And, I am so thankful that God has given me this gift.

Oh, and I’m starting to write a play.  It is called “Ruth’s Reward”, and is about the life of Ruth and Boaz. I’m doing a two week Drama Camp with the Fine Arts Academy at First Baptist Church – Belmont this summer, and we will produce this play. If you have kids who are interested, sign them up! The camp runs M-F July 29th through August 9th from 9-11:30 am. The best part is that there is no cost involved!

I’m also happy this week, because I am closing out six weeks of good health! It has been seven years since I have had such a long streak of happiness with no symptoms from my Bipolar Disorder. Finally, the medicine mixed with exercise and weekly group therapy is working!! I am thrilled, and I have confidence that this streak will continue. I may hit some rough patches, but I will fight through them.

You know, sometimes it is really the small stuff that makes us the happiest. And, this week I am happy, because I have done a very good job of keeping the kitchen clean. The kitchen is often a herculean task, but I find it is easier if I stay on top of it little by little.

2013-05-22 12.04.01-2 2013-05-22 17.14.45You know my girls make me happy all the time. These are some precious memories from the week. The top one Lizzy-Jane actually took herself. We were in a Greek Restaurant with GG. It was a lot of fun. The second one I took of Lizzy-Jane. We were on our way to GG’s and the sun was in her eyes, so I handed her her Daddy’s sun glasses. She looked so cute I had to take a picture!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. GG says:

    I’m happy too cuz you are happy!! I’m happy cuz I did 20 reps on the weight machines PLUS 15 minutes of Zumba!!!

  2. I am happy because you are HAPPY I know that novel is in you

    1. Thanks, Nanny Winkler. Perhaps the book will come out sometime soon.

  3. pattisj says:

    Writing a play? Good for you, putting that writing gift to work.

    1. Yes. It will be challenging and fun!

  4. Peggy says:

    Oh this makes me so happy. I can’t wait to read your new works. Yea for new clothes. Happy it is 6 weeks….. and I am so happy to do things for the girls like the paper dolls.

    1. You will surely get to read anything you want, that I write. We’re lucky to have you!!

  5. Mama Carmody says:

    It’s so great to have you back and feeling great. I can’t believe how much those girls have grown since you have been away. I’m so glad that everything is working for you. Will continue to keep you in my prayers.

    1. Yes, they have surely grown. Thank you very much.

Leave a Reply

