Decorating My Girls’ Nursery

So, my two girls share a room. It’s the only choice we have, but it is so special, that I think we would do it even if we had a choice.

Lately I’ve been nesting. So, I cleaned out and organized all of Lizzy-Jane’s toys and rearranged the furniture in the nursery. And, that got me thinking about decorating. It really is such a thrill for us isn’t it? I never knew!! Anyway, that got me thinking about decals.

So, I looked them up on Pinterest, and OH MY GOODNESS there were so many lovely ones!

Like this one:

Wait a minute. I’m *REALLY* having a hard time choosing.

OK, here:

Laurie Fatla onto For the Home

And, this one:

Jenna Hoffman onto house projects.

OK, I could go on and on forever with the trees. But, I’ll spare you.

But, you’ve got to see this:

Emily Wheeler onto Baby Stuff

You see?! I could label the girls’ *sides* of the room. Wouldn’t that be lovely?

Anyway, so yesterday I took some pictures of my nursery with the intention of sharing them with you, and getting some feed back.

Let’s start with the butterfly. I *actually* PAINTED that!! Yes, I did. I did it in college for a set. We were doing “The Rivals”, and I was a scenic artist. I’ve kept it all these years, and now it hangs in my girls’ room. It recently moved to it’s current spot. And now, it is the first thing you see as you walk into the room.

Here’s Lizzy-Jane playing with the ever popular SMARKS!! And, it is a picture of Claire’s quilt. It was hand made by a lovely lady at our church! I’m realizing now that I should have gotten a closer picture of it.

And, here’s a picture of another FANTASTIC quilt. This one was made by a dear friend of my Mom’s for Lizzy-Jane when she was a wee babe. Oh, and I slept in that bed! Really. Believe it!! It is a family heirloom, and I am so thankful to my father for passing it down to me. And, check out those cute little ballerinas on the sheets. Those are from my Mom, GG.

check out the Minky Couture blanket in Claire’s crib. Yep, we got that for Christmas, and we LOVE it!! It actually follows her around in the bed, and keeps her covered. Yeah, it blows my mind, too. But, really, she does stay covered all night. I think it is because it is kind of weighted. There is lots of fabric in that beautifully soft blanket!!

And, here’s a closer look at how Lizzy-Jane sleeps. This quilt was given to us by my dear friend, Bess. It is much loved in our household.

And, here’s *THE* doll case. The doll in the blue dress was actually hand made by my Grandma for ME when I was a small girl. I remember her giving it to me, so I was probably about 6, not sure though.

And, here’s the Candy Land poster. Lizzy-Jane got that as one of her birthday gifts from her Grandma. Oh, and I actually covered that green box myself. It was a box of diapers in a former life, and now it holds dolls, blankets and stuffed animals.

So, what do you think? Do you like my nursery as much as I do?

I know I could do more work to it, but I hesitate to do so, because we may be moving again in March. We definitely want to get back to our old town before Lizzy-Jane starts school, because the schools there are AWESOME!!

Anyway, If I was to do a decal, where do you think I could put it?

11 Comments Add yours

  1. GG says:

    another blog before 7:30-watch out world!!!!
    I’m glad you moved the doll case. The idea of covering the boxes is cool.
    “Can we talk about this.” I thought cover in the crib was a no no.

    1. Caroline says:

      It is, but it depends on who you talk to. I feel safe.

      1. Caroline says:

        Oh, and it was Elizabeth’s idea to cover the boxes. I think it is cool too!!

  2. Julie says:

    I love the nursery and how everything has meaning and memories attatched. It’s a beautiful room. If you add anything add decals of the girls’ names; I think they would like that (I remember little kids loving their own names and seeing them on stuff).

    1. Wow, thanks, Julie, for the input and for reading my blog! I think you are right. I will check into it. I remember I was always so frustrated that nothing had my name on it growing up. Now, as the name Caroline, gets more popular, I’m sure it is showing up on more and more stuff.

  3. Definitely go with the names because your girls have such beautiful names and it would enhance the quilts instead of competing with them. I love the doll case, very unique and perfect size for a bedroom and for the lovely heirloom doll your Grandma contributed!

    1. Caroline says:

      Thank you, Kelly! That’s some good advice, now I just need to find some that I can afford:) I was researching them some more yesterday, and they are a bit pricey, which is TOTALLY understandable…we’ll see. The good thing is that decals can travel with you. So, if and when we do move back to Belmont, the names can come with us, so it is a good investment!

  4. Jessica says:

    I’m terrible at decorating rooms so I just painted the walls in my kids rooms pink. Good luck with deciding what to do!

    1. Caroline says:

      Pink is good! My room was mauve when I was in middle school. I loved it!

  5. Elastamom says:

    I would never have been able to decide had Pinterest been around back then!! 🙂 I love pink for girls. It’s a stereotype and it’s cliche, but who cares!!!

    1. Caroline says:

      I love pink, too! Girly stuff is SO much fun. Lizzy-Jane told me she wanted a pink cake for her third birthday, so that is what I will do.

Leave a Reply

