Chantelle Henderson ontoAwareness

Actually, it would be truer to say, I LONG to write a book.

For the first time possibly ever, I have one in my head. I am ready to go. I even found a contest I want to enter. But, the deadline is relatively soon. In order to make it I would have to write for an hour and a half every night after Lizzy-Jane goes to bed.

I’m going to start tonight!

I even have a reader lined up. He is our youth pastor, Andrew. He is going to read what I write, as I go, to check for sound doctrine and stuff.

Hey, you, blog readers out there. Please help hold me to this goal. It is very important!!

You see, I’m going to write about Mental Illness and the church. And, how the church needs to step up and learn about the truth of this medical illness, and not just stick to old stereotypes and fears. I have been on both sides. Luckily, or blessedly, I am now in a church that does step up! A church that is very supportive and understanding. But, I have seen both sides of the coin. And, the pain is almost insurmountable, the pain of losing a church family because they are unable to love you like Christ loves the church. Because, they can only stand in judgement.

Saying stupid things like, “What about the woman who kills her children and then you hear she was Bipolar!” I didn’t have children then, but I do now, and that is simply not an issue I have to worry about. I have a MEDICAL illness; like MS or Diabetes or Cancer. You wouldn’t say to a cancer patient, “If you just behaved yourself better, everything would be fine.”  You wouldn’t say to someone with MS, who was confined to a wheel chair, “Just get up and walk.” You wouldn’t say to someone with Diabetes, “I think it is all in your head. You are making it up.”

And, you wouldn’t say to someone with stomach flu, “Just get up and shake it off and go to work.” You shouldn’t say these things to people who are depressed or who have other mental illnesses either.

In my book, I’m going to use the Bible to show how we are called by Jesus Christ to treat those who are sick and helpless.

I even have a title already. But, I won’t tell YOU. I do have to keep some secrets until the book is written!!

