Children Who Read

I want my children to love to read!! My mom taught my brother and I the joy of books. She did it by reading to us often, buying us books and taking us to the library regularly.

And now, my almost three year old plays with books more than any other toy. I have been reading to her since she was in my belly.

I want her to be intelligent.

Repinned from Inspiration by Kelly Miller

Einstein was certainly a smart fellow. I think I could probably just take him at his word. But, I think the main point is reading, not just what you read. Though, I can’t wait to read “The Chronicles of Narnia” to my girls. I love those books, and they are fairy tales.

I have heard that Einstein said that we only use about 10% of our brains. I want my family to learn to use more. After all, the LORD gave us those BIG BRAINS for a reason!! Let us use them!!!

 

 

 

 

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Peggy says:

    I want to thank you for being such a good Mother to my granddaughters by giving them the gift of Loving To Read. I want to thank Connie for giving your that gift when you were young. It will make such a difference in their lives.

    1. You’re welcome, Grandma. It is my pleasure!! And, thank you for giving us so many good books! Like the talking one and *You Are My Cupcake*!!

  2. GG says:

    Good post. : ). Thanks Peggy.

  3. It warms my heart when I see my daughter “read.” It’s such an awesome thing!

    Thank for linking up. 🙂

    1. It is awesome. I have a picture of my oldest when she was about 8 days old *reading* “Goodnight Moon.” It’s fantastic!!

  4. Maegan says:

    My son loves to read! Well, he’s not a reader yet himself, 23 months, but his favorite activity is when we are reading together in his library corner. He has many memorized and tells me key words in each story, tells me which one to read. And when I need him to play independantly (dinner prep, etc) then I ask him to read and he does, happily. I hope his love for books now just grows and grows!

    1. I hope your son’s love of books grows and grows, too! Everybody needs to know the joy of a good book.

    1. Thank you, Marinela Reka!

Leave a Reply

