When Good Friends Move Away

For about three years now my family has nurtured a close relationship with the Pecks, and now they are moving away! My dear friend Elizabeth is packing up her house and moving far far away in January. You see, her husband is a missionary pilot, and she is a missionary wife, and her three kids are missionary children.

We have had two babies together. Her second child was born about five months after Lizzy-Jane and her third child (and second girl) was born about five weeks after Claire.

We have prepared meals for each other, done craft projects, played with children…

She has helped me wash dishes when I was too depressed to move.

We have done church together, played games and talked about our faith, life and raising a family.

I love her, and her sweet children. I will miss her so much.

We had a play date on Monday. The children played dress up. Here they are:

I feel so bad for sweet Lizzy-Jane, losing her good friends; Esther and Jaren. But, I know, just like with my friend, Elizabeth, this will not be the end! We will be friend for years to come. We will keep in touch through the internet and snail mail. And, they will visit NC, and perhaps we will get to visit them in whatever far off land they find themselves in.

I am so happy for the Pecks! The Lord is guiding them into their next step in missionary service. Jamin as a Pilot, and Elizabeth as a wife and mother!!

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Tara R. says:

    Good luck to your friends. With all the Internet options available now, keeping in touch should be fairly easy.

    The photo of the kids is adorable.

    (visiting via PYHO)

    1. Thank you, Tara. I think the picture is great too! But, of course, I am a bit biased:)

  2. Aw, it’s so tough when friends like that move away! Wishing them all the best!

    1. Thanks, Shell, for your wishes for the Pecks. I’m sure they will appreciate it!!

  3. Anastasia says:

    It’s hard enough finding other mommy friends, it must be awful to lose one you’re so close too. I’m sorry.

    1. Thank you, Anastasia! Elizabeth will definitely be greatly missed!

  4. Mama Zen says:

    It’s hard when a friend moves. At least it’s easier to keep in touch than it used to be!

  5. It’s so sad when friends move away but thankfully technology allows us to stay close.

    1. Yes, thank goodness for technology!!

  6. Andrea says:

    Oh, sad face. 😦 I’m sorry you’re losing a friend to distance and your little ones are separating, too! I hope you maintain the connection long after the family moves away!

    1. Thanks, Andrea! I hope we can maintain the connection too!

  7. I love posts like this. You are a great friend for being sad that they are leaving but like a good friend, you know that it’s not the end of the friendship! My daughter’s GodMother is moving away at the end of November and we are heartbroken over it. But, I know that we love and support anything she does, even her move.

    I’m sure you will be able to keep your and Lizzy-Jane’s friendships in tact, especially in the age of social media. Good luck to you all!

    By the way, I’m visiting from PYHO. I’d love for you to check out my post for this week :).

    1. Thanks for the good luck wishes, Amiyrah! I’ll stop by your blog right now.

  8. Kimberly says:

    Good luck to your friends! It’s so sad when people that close to you move away. Hugs!

    1. It is sad. Thanks for the good luck wishes!!

  9. elizabeth says:

    Thanks for your sweet post, Caroline. We’re gonna miss you too! I’m glad for our friendship and glad it won’t be over when we move!

    1. You are welcome, Elizabeth. It is all true. We will miss you guys, but I am so glad we will still be friends!

  10. GG says:

    That picture is the BEST!! Good friends in the Lord share a special bond. Thanks Elizabeth for being such a good friend to Caroline.

Leave a Reply

