I saw Sheila Walsh speak on Saturday, and I keened. Jaime had to put her arm around me, and hold me until I stopped crying. I did, eventually, stop crying.

First of all she was very funny. She talked about her husband and the gifts he gives her. She talked about this really frumpy robe that he got her. She was hilarious.

Then she got serious, and she started talking about the Bible, and the promises God makes, and how He keeps ALL those promises.

She talked about being covered. Covered by the hand of God, and covered by her husband. She said, “Isn’t it great to know someone’s got your back?”

Then she read Psalm 91:4 in the New Living Translation.

Psalm 91:4

New Living Translation (NLT)

4 He will cover you with his feathers.
He will shelter you with his wings.
His faithful promises are your armor and protection.

Then she said, “If we got that, really got that, don’t you think it would change everything.”

Indeed it would!!

Then she got personal. And, I cried. She talked about a psychiatric hospital, and how it has been chasing her all her life. She talked about how she was in one one time, and thought she would lose her whole life, because of the judgement and stereotypes associated with people whose Mental Health is broken. She said that there was a time when she said to the Lord, “Let this be it, let this be the time that I die.” This is where I keened. Because, I have been there. Many times. Many times I have begged the Lord to let me not wake up, to let me go on home to Heaven. But, He hasn’t yet. He must have a plan for me.

I’ve also struggled with stereotypes. A lot! I lost a church family one time because of it.

Then she sang! Oh boy did she sing.  She sang “How Great Thou Art,” which happens to be my husband’s favorite song. We sang it at our wedding.

She has an amazing voice! A one of a kind voice!! I’m going to get one of her CDs soon.

I’m so thankful for this opportunity.

Come back tomorrow. I will tell you what I want to be when I grow up, and how the Women of Faith conference inspired me in this direction.

