You wouldn’t believe it if I told you!

But, YEP, I’m from THERE. That place no one ever wants to talk about…

I am from the sheets of an old comfortable bed, from Sears Robuck.

And I am from the place were stinky poo poo smells run rampant.

I am from the Tulip, and the bamboo, that grows strong in our marriage.

I am from the tradition of singing “Oh Happy Anniversary to you!” in church on Sundays to the couple lucky enough to celebrate.

And, I am from a long line of BOSSY women. I wear my badge well, and sometimes even with pride, unfortunately.

From Aunt Susie and Daddy I’ve learned our own Summer’s brand of sweetness!

I am from the school of thought: “Why remember it if you can repress it?” We are the queen and princess of repression.

And, I am from a well of love so deep it will never run dry.

I am from a family of Christians, but the faith is my very own too. The Jews were first called Christians at Antioch. Are we ashamed?

I am not ashamed.

I am from Raleigh, NC. I am a G.irl R.aised I.n The S.outh (GRITS) and we love to eat Macaroni and Cheese and Chicken Pot Pie!!

From the Grandma who gave me beer when I was 3, and at the same time I told her she should stop drinking and smoking (precocious),

the same Grandma who coughed a lot, and had to lay on the couch hooked up to machines,

and the same Grandma who produced, Sweet, sweet Aunt Susie!

I am from a group who keep their memories, old and yellowed, in a trunk

to pull out when the mood strikes!

**This has been a writing exercise from Mama Kat. I LOVE her! And, I’m really thankful for this opportunity she has so generously provided. This exercise, though a challenge, has been a treat and a blessing. A nice walk down memory lane.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. All of these things help to make you who you are. I can’t believe your grandma gave you beer at age 3 and your told her that she should stop drinking. Sounds like something my daughter would do (not that anyone would give her beer but if they did I can see her doing the same thing).

    1. Oh Jessica, thanks for the laugh!

  2. Peggy says:

    I found some memories in there too. The beer is funny. It sounds like what Lizzy-Jane would say too. I love your blog and am so glad you are starting to write again.

    1. Thanks, Peggy. It is really encouraging that you enjoy it so much.

  3. Elastamom says:

    These are great! I’m heading over to Mama Kat’s now.

    1. Thank you, and enjoy the Mama!

  4. Carolyn says:

    I love Snow White’s expression 🙂
    It’s so hard these day to get my toddler to sit for a picture and when she does, it costs me a cookie!

  5. Thank you! I think that a cookie is not TOO expensive for a good picture!! 🙂

  6. auroranae says:

    Stopping by from your link on Mama Kat’s … thoroughly enjoyed my visit! This prompt was much harder than I thought it would be… or maybe I just hate thinking about my formative years… nah, it was just hard.
    Have a great day!

    1. You are right, it was hard. But, I LOVED it! I guess I do like thinking about my formative years. The good and the bad. I think I might be weird.

      You have a great day too!

  7. Bekah says:

    Great job on the prompt- I really struggled with it, so chose the one about the recipe. And the world needs bossy women. I’m one of them too!

  8. Thank you. I’ll go read your recipe.

  9. Oooh I love, love, love grits! 😀 This is a great post. Thanks for sharing where you’re from!

Leave a Reply

