The UNexpected part of what was Expected

We expected a baby girl, and
we expected her to come early.
But, we did not expect 21
HOURS of labor, and we did
NOT EXPECT her to have to
go to the NICU. So stressful!

But, she is out, and her
Doctor says she is perfect. She
is back up to birthweight, and
sleeping five hours at night. Her
sister loves her. She’s our delight!

Claire Whitaker Ross: Worth the Wait!!!!
Born 1:14 am on August 6, 2011
6 lbs 11 oz, 6 oz more than her
sister, Lizzy-Jane Porter Ross. Perfection!!

34 Comments Add yours

  1. Peggy says:

    Welcome back Ms. Blogger, love getting these blogs again. Love the pictures too.

    1. It sure is good to be back!

  2. Connie Summers says:

    Yay she is back!!!!!!
    I was hoping a post would come soon. And what a perfect topic!! You are doing a good job “mama” Caroline.

  3. Sara says:

    !!!! I’ve got goose bumps. Congratulations to you and your family and welcome to Claire…one of my very favourite names 🙂

    1. Thank you, Sara! I’m glad you like the name. For us it is a family name, and very special to me. I hope she grows up to be as sweet as the woman she is named after.

  4. Congratulations!!! Yes, the labor is ALWAYS unexpected.

    1. I could go through another labor, but NOT the recovery or the preceding 9 months. We are done, and VERY, VERY blessed!

  5. Adrienne says:

    Congratulations!!!! Sweet beginnings ~ full of the unexpected! So glad all is well!

    1. Thank you, Adrienne! I too am happy for these semi-peaceful days we are in now.

  6. I am so glad she is here to, sweet baby girl! Glad the transition for LJ is going well too!

    1. Thanks Auntie Melissa, we can’t wait to see you guys again!

  7. ayala says:

    Congratulations!!!!!! I wish your family a lifetime of happiness.

    1. Thank you, Ayala! It’s good to have things a bit settled, and be back to blogging!

  8. kate says:

    wonderful news! both expected and unexpected.
    one cannot be appreciated without another

    1. You are right! Such joy comes out of SUCH pain.

  9. CONGRATULATIONS!!! The great expectation has arrived 🙂 So glad all went well for you.

    1. Thank you. I’m just glad the pregnancy is over! But, she was totally worth the wait!!!

  10. Linda kridel says:

    Caroline – she is darling. I can’t believe how much Lizzie Jane looks like you when you were little.
    Perfect name too.m I’m so happy you are all doing so well. Linda Kridel (Cousin Lindy)

    1. Hey cousin Linda! It’s so good to see you here at me blog. Thank you so much!! I hope you will come back, I write about the girls all the time.

  11. Melissa says:

    Congratulations!!! What a beautiful name for a beautiful girl. Love love love! And Lizzy-Jane looks as though she is smitten. 🙂

    1. Thanks! Lizzy-Jane is certainly smitten! She loves to kiss her sister, and she always informs us when she is crying (in case we didn’t notice). And, she always asks where “Baby Claire” is, when Claire is taking a nap.

  12. melgallant says:

    Born the same day as my daughter – albeit two years later! She is beautiful!!! Congratulations. Big Sister looks very proud. 🙂

    1. Thank you, Mel! And, happy late birthday to your daughter!

  13. Buckeroomama says:

    Congratulations on your new(ish) little bundle of joy! =)

    1. Thank you! And, she is DEFINITELY still new to me!!!

  14. Jessica says:

    So tiny. Glad to hear she is doing well. Hope you are too.

  15. Yep, I give birth to itty bitty babies!! I’m getting better everyday. Right now I think I need a nap though. I better go get one, STAT!

  16. Elastamom says:

    Yipppeeee!!! Welcome baby girl!!!

  17. Carolyn says:

    Oh those are great shots. You forget how small you baby was until you bring another home! 🙂
    I love the one of the girls meeting, very sweet.

    1. Thanks, Carolyn! Yeah, it is amazing how huge Lizzy-Jane seemed the first time I changed her diaper after bringing Claire home!!

Leave a Reply

