The Magical IF

If you rub my feet, I
will make you dinner. No complaints.

If you clean the bathroom, I
will clean the kitchen and vacuum.

If you bring home the bacon,
I will pay all the bills.

If you get a chick flick,
I will stay awake to watch.

If you change the stinky diaper,
I will love you forever. Always.

Only, our love doesn’t work that
way. It is more the unconditional
sort. Where no matter what you
do, I will try to show
you how much I love you,
with my time, actions and works.

28 Comments Add yours

  1. Peggy says:

    How very sweet, love it.

  2. Kate B says:

    How easily we get caught up in those “if’s” and lose the opportunity to love and be loved.
    Great post!

    1. Yes, it is very easy! Scary easy!!

  3. Sara says:

    When expectations abound, especially in marriage, I think it can be hard to show unconditional love. Rather than reasons to love someone I like to think of them as reflections of your love for someone. Fantastic post!

    1. Thanks, Sara. Yes, it is very easy to have expectations, but I have found that it is easy to get disappointed when you have to many expectations!

  4. ayala says:

    Unconditional love is a good one 🙂

  5. Adrienne says:

    I don’t know…for a foot rub, I’d do just about anything! hehe! Seriously though – I do agree that unconditional love wins out over ‘fair trade’ any day!

    1. Though fair trade can sometimes be tempting…it’s not the BEST way!

  6. GG says:

    “IF” it’s Friday I look for your post. Love it!!!

    1. I’m glad you’re still looking!

  7. Amen, sister. The checks and balances system doesn’t work in a marriage. There are no easy equations in love.

    1. That’s a good way to put it, “there are no easy equations in love.” Thanks!!

  8. yep, the only if-thens there should be are if we love each other, then we love each other. and everything else will work itself out.

    1. That’s true. It’s definitely a learning experience!

  9. Belinda says:

    Keeping score doesn’t ever really work. These proofs of love that we show, they are what make love tangible.

    1. Yes! The *tangible* parts of love are my favorite!

  10. husband and daddy says:

    If you do or don’t say
    I love you, I will always
    Love you. If you do or
    don’t always show me you Love
    me, I will always love you. If
    you do or don’t make dinner,
    do the laundry, pay the bills
    (we may be out of the
    apt if I tried to pay
    the bills though), Chris movies. Know,
    I will always love you unconditionally.

    1. That is sweet babe! Thanks!

  11. Melissa says:

    “If, then” makes for good mathematical proofs, but not such good proof of love. Your way is much better. 🙂

    1. Thanks! It seems to be working for us!!

  12. Brilliant,,, and sweet! 🙂

  13. Elastamom says:

    Very, very sweet and true!

  14. Jessica says:

    If can be a great words sometimes. It brings together the give and take in a balanced way.

    1. For sure, the balance is an important thing to find.

Leave a Reply

