BIG Joy in the LITTLE Things

2.) Write a poem inspired by a picture you took last week. Share both!

This is the prompt I chose today from Mama Kat’s workshop.

See the joy on her face, and the pride and curiosity on his face. This picture was taken last week during my beach vacation. My Mother and Sister-in-law had gone out to breakfast with my Mom’s best friend. I volunteered to stay home with the children. I’m not really that in to breakfast, and I had already had a breakfast out with my Dad earlier in the trip. I got lucky, and my Dad stayed with me to watch the children. Of course, Lizzy-Jane is mine, so it is not baby sitting with her, but Clay, my nephew, adds a new dimension.

My Dad agreed to let them play with the play dough. And, they REALLY enjoyed it. The other bonus? I got some good pictures, including this one. I loved taking pictures on vacation. I got over 150.

Shortly after this moment a minor melt down occurred, followed promptly by a nap. My Father, he and I are odd birds. We spent the whole nap time cleaning (he even vacuumed) the rented beach condo. It’s always nice to have freshly straightened digs!

So, now for the promised poem:

JOY

The little children laugh and
PLAY,
delighted by the most simple things.
We big folk don’t have to work too
HARD
to find a moment they will delight in.
And, we are the true winners!
The ones who get to
WATCH
their faces as they discover new
WORLDS.

22 Comments Add yours

  1. ayala says:

    It’s so good to watch their delight and we are the lucky ones to watch them…true words!

    1. Thanks! It’s delightful to watch her everyday. You should have heard her just sing two whole verses of “You are my Sunshine” while we were eating lunch. I wish I had a video of that!!

  2. Stasha says:

    They look so happy!

    You gotta love Play-Doh and the mess it makes!

    Hee hee!

    1. It sure does make a mess! But, I think I’m going to get her some of her own anyway, because she loved it so much!!

  3. Carissa says:

    So very true! Love it!

  4. What joy! and love the pic!
    Just popped in from Mama Kat!
    Chris

    1. Thanks, Chris. And, thanks for stopping by.

  5. What a great poem! I truly believe children can bring out the best in us. Who can resist the beautiful smiles?

    1. I certainly can’t resist them! Thanks for the encouragement!

  6. Peggy says:

    I love that picture of Lizzy-Jane. What a great story behind the picture and poem.

    1. Isn’t it a great picture?! Thanks, I’m glad you like the story.

  7. misty says:

    Lovely! Nothing like experiencing life through the eyes of a child!

    1. They do have the most beautiful and most clear eyes!

  8. Raine says:

    They are absolutely amazing, huh? 🙂

    1. Oh, yes, they sure are!

  9. kristi says:

    it’s true…play doh does bring a ridiculous amount of joy! for all involved because it’s ‘hours’ of fun 🙂
    thanks for stopping by & leaving a comment.

    1. Oh, sure. My pleasure! Every Mom likes the stuff that brings ‘hours’ of fun!

  10. GG says:

    Love the pic hadn”t seen this one. I love the way you do 2 poems in one. So creative. Where does that come from?

    1. Thanks, Mom! I don’t know where it comes from. God I guess!

  11. Jessica says:

    I love the last line on the poem. Watching the kids discover the world is great.

    1. Thanks, Jessica. Yeah, Lizzy-Jane’s curiosity keeps me going!

Leave a Reply

