A Challenge

It is said that those who love to write, also love to read. I would say that is true. I enjoy writing. It is now my primary creative outlet. As, I am no longer acting, and honestly I don’t miss that, writing is what I do to get the voices out of my head. I’m sure I could and probably should do more writing. There are still voices up there after all.

And of course I love to read. I’ve been reading since I was 3. It’s my favorite pass time. I can read a 300 + page nove l in a day or two. Of course I’m not as fast as some people. But, I’m dedicated. I’ll stay up all night if the book is good enough. I’ve done that many times.

Once, while living in Wilmington, my alarm clock went of to get ready for work right as I finished the last sentence of the book I was reading. Oops. No sleep that night!

So, I said I should probably do some more writing. Didn’t I?

In comes the new challenge.

I STARTED A  NEW CREATIVE WRITING CLASS LAST NIGHT!

The number of participants is low right now, but we are hoping the group will grow.

It was fun. I learned some stuff. I was encouraged. The teacher liked the writing samples I brought in.

And, then I got the  challenge. Write something new for next week. That in itself is not hard. But, of course, I stepped up the challenge. I’m the one that decided to start work on the memoir I’ve dreamed of writing. The memoir on my experiences with Bipolar Disorder. My disorder. Diagnosed October 30, 2005.

So, my first assignment quickly became, “Write about my first introduction to a psychiatrist and the manic episode complete with a psychotic break that led up to the need for such a thing.” Argh! I’m really in for it now. It’s going to be hard!

But, I think I’m up for the challenge. I sure hope so. Because, I have to come up with something, and I’m not one to turn in something less than what I think is good. So, this week should be interesting. And busy! The rest of my life isn’t going anywhere after all!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

HER FIRST PONY TAIL!!

We did this at the beach. I gave her a cookie, and she actually stood perfectly still while I put her hair into it’s very first pony tail. Of course she got chocolate all over her face. And, of course it didn’t stay very well with her lounging all over her beloved GG. I think I need to get better pony tail holders.

But, it was a start. And, I will definitely try to do it again soon!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Peggy says:

    I am glad the class is what you wanted. Good luck on the writing challenge this week.

    I love the pony tail. She is so cute.

    1. Isn’t it amazing that that wispy hair went up! Thanks!!

  2. GG says:

    I did remember you had your class last night. : ) Glad you liked it.. Now instead of L-J saying she has to finish her blog it will be “she has to finish her memoir. : ) Good luck with your challenge.

    1. I would love to hear Lizzy-Jane say the word *memoir*. That would be great!

  3. Carolyn says:

    I can read a 300 book in a night or two as well!
    Good luck in your class.

  4. GG says:

    I remeber when you were in junior high you told me you wanted to be a writer. Cool huh.

    1. Yeah, I remember too! I loved my English/Journalism teacher then. We wrote all the time, and I always wanted to read what I wrote out loud!!

  5. Jessica says:

    The creative writing class sounds great. I’ve always wanted to take on.

    The pony tail is adorable.

    1. You should totally find one and take it. It’s great! Thanks about the pony tail! I, of course, have to agree:)

  6. Juliana says:

    It’s so good to hear of other people writing out the voices in our heads. 🙂

Leave a Reply

