TROUBLE with a Capital T

Again it’s Thursday and I ‘m linking up with Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop. I’ve chosen the first topic:

1.) Write about a time you got in BIG trouble as a kid.

I have been planning to write about this topic all week. I have a great story in mind. But,  I must admit the Top 10 Summer Don’t s also looks very tempting. Maybe if I have time I’ll write both. Hee hee hee!!

Anyway, When I was about 10 years old, my brother and I had an Adpack route that we delivered door to door in our neighborhood. One day I was delivering these papers on a snowy day. Which in Raleigh, NC meant there was some snow stuck to the cars, and that was about it.

I was ten remember, snow was a GREAT fascination to me. So, as I walked down the driveway from one corner house, I reached out and scraped some snow off the car to make a snowball.

The owner STORMED out of the house and yelled at me, “Don’t you know you could scratch my car doing that! You could take the paint off!! If I catch you doing that again….!!!”

I was terrified. I ran all the way home. All the way up into my bedroom. And, to the back of my closet and hid. I was horrified about what might happen to me!

But, nothing every happened. I just think it was funny that I hid in the closet from the man who lived two streets away!

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Jenny says:

    Sounds like someone peed in his cornflakes that morning 😉

  2. GG says:

    Poor baby I NEVER new this!!! Hiding in the closet reminds me when the horse bit me and I ran to the car and locked it.

    1. Hey I remember that. Right? I was there? Of course you didn’t know about me in the closet, I was afraid I would get in trouble!!

  3. Lex says:

    Wow – that guy didn’t have a good morning… I find it quite amusing that you hid in the closet! What possess a child to do that – he must have been very mean looking!!

    1. He was very mean looking. But, I don’t know why, somehow I was convinced he would find me otherwise!!

  4. I guess big trouble is in the eye of the troublemaker! Isn’t it funny how kids overreact to correction? But then, this grown up sounds pretty ridiculous, dontcha think?

    1. This grown up does sound pretty ridiculous. But, you are right. Some kids do over react to correction. My daughter often does!!

  5. he sounds like a regular crankypants!

    1. In hindsight I can see that he was. At the time I was just scared!

  6. ayala says:

    This made me sad for you as a little girl 😦

    1. It made my mom sad too. She wished she had known about it, she would of had words with him!

  7. Juliana says:

    I was so sure you were going to say that you threw the snowball at him!

    1. That would have been awesome! Then I would have really been in trouble for sure!!

Leave a Reply

