Mommy

So, I just didn’t know what to write about. I kind of didn’t want to blog at all, but I figured I should try to stay on that horse. Because you know when you fall off, it becomes increasingly more difficult to get back on…Anyway. Suffice it to say I was at a loss. So I went over to Mama Kat’s to look for some inspiration from her writing prompts. And, this is what I found:

Describe yourself in five words. Choose one, and write a poem.

So, here goes nothing!

1. Sad

2. Creative

3. Mommy

4. Mercurial

5. Tired

(I know these aren’t very inspiring words. Sorry. Yep, I’m still not feeling good. And, I’m just trying to be honest. If I was on the other side of this illness the list would look completely different. But, alas, this is where I am!!)

So, now to choose one to write a poem about. I have to tell you, number 3 is definitely high in the running. Or, it could be number 4 or…any of them really. Let me ruminate for a moment.

I kind of wish I could just put a picture here. Wouldn’t that be so much easier. And, you know, a picture is worth a thousand words! OK! OK! I know. I promised. I will try to write a poem….. Now see if you can guess which word I chose.

You and Me
(With apologies to Charles Kingsley)

When all the world is young, princess,
And everything seems possible,
You know you are a princess,
Because, for Mommy to lie is impossible;
And, she tells you plain and clear, you are her princess
And, you believe her, looking back with those big eyes,
Girls, like you, my dearest angel princess,
For you girls, we store up every priceless sigh.

When all the world is old, princess,
That’s when I earned the title Mommy;
For to be your tired Mommy, princess
I must be very old and have a big tummy.
We tell you, inside that tummy, is another baby
And, maybe you don’t understand quite yet
But, when Claire comes, and you see her, maybe
You will finally know what it means to have no regrets.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I don’t know if I like it. Be kind! I tried!!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. GG says:

    You are definately a good “Mommy”

    1. Oh, I hope so. I try! Thanks!!

  2. ayala says:

    You are a good sweet mommy 🙂

    1. Oh, thanks! I want nothing more than to be a good Mommy!

  3. Peggy says:

    Lizzy-Jane and Claire are two lucky girls to have you.

Leave a Reply

