TOP 10 LIST

*Make a top ten list of favorite things you haven’t done in over a year.*

1. Go to the beach!

My husband and I met in Wilmington, NC. We were both living there at the time, and we haven’t been back for a visit in over a year! I’m so excited to go spend a week on Carolina Beach in June. We are getting a condo for the whole family as part vacation part *Wedding trip.* My mom’s best friend’s daughter is getting married! I’m sure it will be a wonderful time! You’ll be sure to see plenty of pictures.

2. Movie Marathons!

Before marriage, children and the economic downturn I used to go buy two or three movie tickets at a time and spend the day at the movie theatre. I couldn’t deal with the guilt of trying to sneak into movies, so I would just buy all the tickets up front, along with some popcorn and a drink and have a wonderful relaxing day! I can’t remember the last time I did that!

3. Go on a trip alone with my husband!

A few years ago we went to Asheville to celebrate my birthday. We had a wonderful time! I think that was the last time we went on a trip together. I long for some time alone with him!

4. Go see a play!

Tragically, I can’t remember the last play I went to see. I’m trying to dig it up, but I just can’t. Being a theatre person, I used to do it all the time! I would love to go see something at Catawba or at the Belk Theatre in Charlotte!

5. Go to New York City!

I used to travel a lot for work, as I was an actor. And I would often make side trips into the city to visit friends, site see or see a show! It’s been a LOOOONG time since I’ve done this. Like maybe SIX YEARS! Arghh! I’m getting old!!

6. Go to the farm!

I worked for The Hampstead Stage Company on and off for many years. The place, in New Hampshire, where we held rehearsals was called the farm. Those people became a second family to me, and are very dear to my heart. I often still dream of being there.

7. Join a book club!

I’ve joined two for very brief periods of time, but I long to be a part of a book club. I often think of starting one myself. But, I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

8. Go swimming!

OK, so maybe I swam at the YMCA less than a year ago. I’m not sure. But, the fact is, I haven’t put on a bathing suit in quite some time, and I am very much looking forward to our new pool opening at the end of May! If you live nearby, come on over for a swim!!

9. Make a cheesecake!

I have a recipe for a pumpkin praline cheesecake that I made several years in a row for Thanksgiving, but I haven’t made it in a couple of years. Maybe I should make a cheesecake soon. I need a good excuse to make one.  A celebration or something.

10. Watch TV!

OK, I do watch TV at my Mom’s house, and sometimes I watch TV shows on my computer, but we haven’t had TV in our house in almost five years. Sometimes I miss it. Sometimes I would really like to just veg out. But, even though I’ve toyed with the idea of getting cable, it’s really not something to long for….Maybe it shouldn’t be on this list at all. But I was grasping at straws ya’ll!

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Peggy says:

    I’m up for babysitting for your trip alone with Chris. Of course, Lizzy-Jane would not be very spoiled when you return. Or if it is after Claire is born, she would not be spoiled either. Yea Grandma time.

    1. That would be wonderful! We’ll have to plan on it!!

  2. GG says:

    Good for you for “getting back up on the horse.” I was sad when I didn’t see a “Friday” post. I’m thinking of coming Sunday. GG

    1. I would love to see you Sunday!

  3. ayala says:

    What a great list 🙂

    1. Thanks! Doesn’t it all sound fun!

  4. candcross says:

    hey i can take care of 80% of this list. we could drop the kid off with the inlaws and head up the farm, stopping at virginia beach to go swimming, then stopping again in NY to see a play, and then stop in Boston to do a movie marathon. then all times we stay at a motel you can watch all the TV you want. Voila!!!! I am a GENIUS.

  5. Elastamom says:

    I was just dreaming of a beach vacation yesterday…sigh….

    1. The dreams, they are lovely!

  6. Juliana says:

    Oh, I would so happily get rid of our TV! But instead, we just bought a new one. I guess my husband had reached the end of his patience with the old one (bought at a church sale for $50).

    1. Well, I hope he likes the new one!

Leave a Reply

