I Will Overcome

There is a group called Celebrating Recovery, and sometimes I think I should join that group. Today is one of those days! I am in the midst of the longest string of *good* days that I have had in THREE YEARS! What has caused it? God. Definitely. Our move. Most certainly. An increased dosage of a good medicine. Surely! And this *overcoming* of illness that I am experiencing has me *OVERCOME* with joy and thanksgiving.

Mark 5:42
Immediately the girl arose and walked, for she was twelve years of age. And they were overcome with great amazement.

John 16:33
These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.”

I am writing for Mama Kat today. Prompt #4: What battle are you fighting? Write a poem overcoming.

 

 

 

Life
(With apologies to Emily Dickinson)

Success is counted sweetest
to me, after waiting long.
I thought the day would never
come when I could stand strong.

Not once would I believe it true,
that three weeks would I see
a solid string of good old days
and productivity.

As I stand a top this old
obstacle, I cry out
with a joy before unknown.
This is what life is about!


21 Comments Add yours

  1. Peggy says:

    So glad you are feeling better.

  2. ayala says:

    Celebrate every good day 🙂

    1. You are right, I should celebrate every good day! Maybe that’s a good thing about having a chronic illness, it gives me a lot to celebrate on the good days!

  3. Beautiful poem! Cherish the good days.. let them lift you up and carry you through the bad days. You got to have some rain to make a rainbow!

    1. Thank you, Anne! That is so true!!

  4. Diane says:

    Hope the good days continue to outweigh the bad!

    1. Thank you, Diane! I hope so too!!

  5. Hi ~ visiting from MamaKats. I chose the same prompt! Without knowing the back story, I can just feel the sense of victory! Prayers for many more “good” days! Those last chapters of John’s gospel are my “go to” chapters…somehow his words always help ~ Adrienne

    1. Thanks for the prayers. I love those chapters too. That’s one of my favorite verses, but I really love His prayer in chapter 17!

  6. Amanda says:

    Isn’t that the best feeling? I’m very glad for you!

    1. Thanks, Amanda! And yes, it is the best feeling!

  7. GG says:

    I’m overcome with tears of joy for these good three weeks. Praying that they will continue for you. Loved the poem.
    Love you. GG

    1. Thanks, GG. For liking the poem AND for being so happy WITH me!

  8. so wonderful, I am glad you feel joyous. thankyou also for your lovely comment on my blog. jane xx

  9. Emily says:

    I enjoyed how you incorporated the bible and your own poetry in your post! So glad to hear you are feeling well!

    1. Thanks, Emily! It is nice to have a string of good days.

  10. Kristi says:

    Celebrating with you!! Such a wonderful feeling that you are experiencing right now. Enjoy it all! 🙂 Your poem is beautiful.

    1. Oh, thank you so much! For joining my celebration and for the kind compliment!

Leave a Reply

