Hey guys! Well, I’m writing and performing a monologue for church Easter Sunday morning. I’m kind of excited about it. I hope it goes well! I haven’t acted in a while. I’m posting it here. I wrote it this morning while Lizzy-Jane watched the Veggie Tales video “God Made You Special” that we got from the library. I hope you like it. Let me know what you think. Please!

Mary Magdalene
Talking to a young girl, a relative.

You want me to tell you about Jesus? Oh it was wonderful to know Him. Those days in my life, when He was here among us were the best of my life. I’ve told you many times about the day He was crucified, and how horrible that was. They beat Him until He was unrecognizable. I couldn’t even watch. I couldn’t see through my tears, but even if I could have, I wouldn’t have been able to bear to watch the cruelty. But, I was there. But, now, today, I want to tell you about when he came back to life. He is alive! You do know that don’t you? You must know it way down deep in your bones, your soul. It is true, Jesus is alive. I know. I saw Him!

One day the grave could conceal Him no longer
One day the stone rolled away from the door
Then He arose, over death He had conquered.

I had gone to the grave with some friends. We were grieving and we wanted to see Jesus. But, he wasn’t there. The stone was rolled away. My friends left, but I just stood there and wept. I couldn’t believe someone had taken His body, my teacher, My LORD.

I peeked into the tomb, and two angels were in there. They were dressed all in white. One sat where His head had been laid, and one sat where His feet had been. They asked me why I was weeping, and I told them. I told them someone had taken away my Lord, and I did not know where they had taken Him. I wanted so desperately to find Him.

Then I turned around, and I saw another man standing there. I assumed he was the gardener. It was such a beautiful place. Even in my grief I couldn’t help but notice. The man said, “Woman, why are you weeping? Whom are you seeking?” I said, “Sir, if you have carried Him away, tell me where you have laid Him, and I will take Him away.”

Then He said, “Mary.” He knew my name. I was confused at first, but then I knew it was my LORD! (pause) He called me by my name. (pause) I wept, and I fell at His feet, clinging to Him. He told me not to cling to Him, because He had not yet ascended to His Father. He trusted me enough to give me the great task of telling His brethren what I knew. He told me to tell them, He said exactly, I remember, “I am ascending to My Father and Your Father and My God and your God.”

I went and told the disciples. I told everyone I knew, everyone I saw. I couldn’t keep it quiet. It was such wonderful news! The LORD was alive! Is alive!!

One day He’s coming again. What a glorious day that will be! Go tell all your friends, everyone you know, everyone you meet Jesus is ALIVE and He is coming again.

 

