Ten Things My Mother Taught Me:

(This is my 50th post by the way. It’s kind of a milestone)

1. I’m sure one of the first things my Mom taught me was to use the potty. I bring this  up only because it is time to potty train Lizzy-Jane, and I feel like a deer in headlights.  I CAN’T seem to get it together. But, I will. In due time. Now that I think about it Mama  didn’t potty train me, Mama Dot did. Mom just followed through on what was so  lovingly started by Mama Dot. Where is Mama Dot when you need her, I ask you?!!

2. My Mama taught me to laugh. I’m not sure she set out to do this. But, we do have the  same infectious laugh. It is one of our truest legacies. That and our hands, we have the  same exact hands.

3. My Mama taught me to LOVE books. She so lovingly and selflessly read to us for  hours on end when we were growing up, and she made sure we had a library card and  were able to go on a regular basis. I LOVE to read! Thanks Mom!

4. My Mama taught me to sing. I love to sing, and I got that from Mom. I grew up  sitting beside her in church and hearing her sing pretty. Even today when we sing certain songs, it’s as if I can hear her there beside me.

5. My Mama taught me to do laundry. If memory serves me correctly I had to do my own laundry in High School. I was very busy back then, so I’m not really sure if memory does serve, but I know for a FACT that I went off to college already knowing how to do the deed.

6. My Mama taught me how to make a really mean meat loaf. Well she didn’t actually teach me. But, she did give me the recipe when my husband fell in love with it, while still my fiancée and staying at there house.  We ate a good one tonight made by a friend. I said, “this is almost as good as mine.” He agreed, “Almost.” Apparently he loves mine the best. Go Mom!

7. My Mama taught me to memorize memory verses for church and Awana. And because of it I got 4 great things. 1. God’s word is hidden in  my heart 2. I got to go to camp for free many, many times 3. I always finished my Awana books and got trophies. and 4. I became a professional actor, very proficient at memorizing lines.

8. My Mama taught me to love my little baby girl. She taught me to shower her with kisses, and read to her and sing to her and tickle her, and basically just love her to pieces every minute of the day. Lizzy-Jane does make that job pretty easy though. Except when she doesn’t. And then I just have to take a breath and get down to the business of loving her to pieces anyway!

9.  My Mama taught me to swim. I LOVE the water. I am so thankful that she taught me that. As I get older I’m less likely to WANT to get into a bathing suit. But, I still love the water. And, I look forward to walking laps in my new neighborhood pool – opening soon!

10. My Mama taught me to make breakfast for dinner. Now usually she likes to micromanage stuff. But this last visit I was able to make the whole meal; grits, eggs, bacon and toast, while she was completely preoccupied…Yep, Mom, You done good. You managed to teach me how to do it all by myself!

24 Comments Add yours

  1. Angie says:

    Sweet! And breakfast for dinner is true comfort food, isn’t it? 🙂

  2. Peggy says:

    I love this post. Lizzy-Jane is growing up in a house full of love, laughter, parents making memories for her and Christ. What a great childhood.

    1. Thanks, Peggy! Those words are encouraging.

  3. That is a very comprehensive list! Many of the things you mention: reading, AWANA and scripture memory, breakfast for dinner, laundry, laughing all hit home with me. My mom tried teaching me how to sing but I just could never sing on key. She loved to sing though and at least my sister loves it too.

    I used to be an AWANA director, secretary, leader and commander and completed all the books to earn the Citation Award. I think AWANA is a wonderful program!

    Stopping by from Writer’s Workshop. Here’s my posts about stories of love if you get a chance to visit:
    http://zemeks.blogspot.com/2011/03/greatest-love-story-ever-writers.html and
    http://karenzemek.blogspot.com/2011/03/story-of-love-writers-workshop.html

    1. Karen, Your work with AWANA is impressive! I don’t remember if I got the Citation award or not. I think I got the one just under it, because I did not complete Varsity. I enjoyed both of your posts.

  4. GG says:

    Wow!! What wonderful words to wake up to this morning. I Laughed smiled and cried. thanks “sweet Caroline” for reminding me of precious memories. Where is mama Dot when we need her. : )

    1. I’m wondering if Maggie has a similar touch/skill. I’m going to ask her on Friday.

      And, you are welcome, “sweet Mama.”

  5. ayala says:

    Sweet…I think your mama taught you a lot of good things.

    1. Thanks! She is a good Mama!

  6. Sounds like a great mom! My mom also taught me to love books and I’ve been able to pass that lesson on to my kids. So thankful!

    Visiting from Mama Kat’s…I followed the prompt today too. So fun!
    -FringeGirl

    1. Thanks for stopping by! It’s great to meet another book lover.

  7. Frelle says:

    a sweet look at so many great lessons she taught you! glad to stop by and read more about you, and her, from the mamakat linkup!

  8. Your mama taught you well and left wonderful legacy for you to pass on to your daughter. We have breakfast for dinner at least once a week.
    Thanks for stopping by — from Mama Kat’s

    1. Sure thing. And, thank you!

  9. Jessica says:

    Great list of things your mother taught you. My favorite were reading, laughing, and loving your little girls. Good luck on potty training.

  10. Thanks! I’ll need it for sure. I think I got some good advice today!!

  11. misty says:

    your mom sounds amazing! and yum! Breakfast for dinner sounds fabulous right about now!

    1. Thanks, my mom is amazing! She would be encouraged to hear that.

  12. jane@flightplatformliving says:

    lovely, she sounds fab! potty training…good luck!!
    thanks so much for stopping by my blog today and your lovely words. its nice to say hello jane x

    1. Thanks, I’m sure we will need some luck!! I love reading blogs, so it’s great to share this with each other.

  13. Tracy says:

    You sound like you have a very lovely Mom! And who doesn’t love having breakfast at dinner time!! Cool mom for teaching you the fun of that. 🙂

  14. Sandra says:

    Your mama taught you right! Nothing beats bacon for supper!

Leave a Reply

