Pet Peeves

I’m sure I have lots of pet peeves. But, for some reason, right now, I can’t think of many. I know back in the days when I was on tour lots of things peeved me. You see, I would tour the country for about 12 weeks doing children’s theatre productions in schools with ONE other person. So, of course, it was easy for that one person to get on my nerves. But, now my life is rather isolated, and for some reason, not much bothers me. I guess I’ve grown chill in my old age.

Then again I’ve thought of two things.

One, my mom, (I really love you Mom) but she is the queen of bossy. And, it really drives me crazy when she asks me to do something, like take out the trash, and I go to do it, but she keeps saying no wait, no wait, adding things to the pile. I haven’t gone anywhere! I’m not leaving! Calm down woman. I am at your service. Of course this probably dates back to me as a child not liking to do what I’m told. And, really, it’s my own silly problem. It shouldn’t bother me, but it does.

Two, Chris, my husband, is a loud breather. I remember one time when we were dating we were sitting in the car talking. And, we were kind of having an argument, and all I could think was, “He breathes so loud!” Now, it really only bothers me when I’m trying to sleep and he’s snuggling behind me with his head by my ear! Loud breather! Roll over! He also snores….but that’s a whole OTHER story. This writing prompt was about pet peeves that shouldn’t really bother us, but do. And I think the snoring SHOULD bother me.

So that’s me, I know loud breathing and simple requests from Mom shouldn’t bother me, but for some reason, they do!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Rebekah Jo says:

    HAHAHA!!! I think my mom is the queen of bossy too. I swear that woman commands more than asks!! I have grown so used to it and have a snarky remark I make to her, but god love the queen you know!!

    Stopping by from Mama Kat’s

  2. my husband is a loud breather too. When he falls asleep, he doesn’t snore, but he sleeps with his lips closed and then I hear the air escape from his closed lips. He’s like a lid that keeps flipping off (and I am about to flip mine!). He gets a swift mule kick when he does that!

  3. Amazing how Mom’s are bossy! I’m not bossy, nope, not me…just ask my daughter… no, wait, on the other hand, don’t.

  4. Mama says:

    My sister use to say “You’re not the boss of me”
    By the way my garbage is already on the street. Thanks Ol’ Pappy. : )
    Love when my girl writes. GG

  5. Laura says:

    Eew, I totally agree about the loud breather thing. And mouth breathers. One of my students came up and asked me a question yesterday, and I could feel the heat of the breath coming out of her mouth as she stood in front of me. Gross.

    Thanks for stopping by! Glad to hear there’s another learning-lover out there!

Leave a Reply

